When a dictator dies…

I cannot be curious or excited

when it feels like tourism from someone born on the privileged end

of a TV remote flipping through the news channels

I cannot pray for or on behalf of a people

when the sentences keep ending with “new markets for capitalism”

I cannot ask if one is from the north or south

or east or west

when a border does not define a human being

I cannot use the term dictator

When dictator is a term we only use to label our enemies

who were sometimes our friends before they were our enemies

I cannot wave justice like a flag

when I believe I can find it in the full of a body bag

I cannot act in a peoples’ best interests

when my best interests sound like too many screaming in silence

I cannot muse about what this event means for my life

When I do not know the desperate alchemy of trying to feed a family

I cannot be one drum, one pair of clapping hands, or one jeering mouth,

I cannot celebrate death

ever

I cannot be afraid of what the next man will do, or what country will rise

when I have questioned into the hollow of that logic time and time again

And love is the only thing

that has ever answered back

“stay whole”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When a dictator dies…

  1. linda says:

    you make me want to make more of an effort. hope you’re well, blesse

  2. Jade says:

    couldn’t have said it better.

  3. Sunny says:

    i found your blog through a friend and i have been reading your other posts and I just wanted to let you know that you are incredibly eloquent and your posts are thought-provoking and moving. keep on posting 🙂 i’ll continue to follow and read diligently!

  4. Pingback: The death of Kim Jong Il « sahngnoksoo

Leave a Reply

